Augustana Women's Basketball Camps

Head Coach Dave Krauth

David Krauth enters his 31st season at the helm of the Augustana women's basketball program in 2019-20.

During the 2018-19 season, Krauth led the Vikings to a 22-11 record. The Vikings 22 wins is the 14th time in the last 15 years that the Vikings have won at least 20 games in a single season. They have recorded 21, 20 win seasons since Krauth became head coach in 1989-90. He has had just one losing campaign.

Vishe' Rabb earned NSIC Freshman of the Year honors, Krauth’s sixth player to be named NCC/NSIC Freshman of the Year. Rabb averaged 11 points per game in 22 NSIC contests with 13 starts. She was also named to the All-NSIC Freshman Team.

Shelby Selland, Lynsey Prosser and Hana Metoxen also received NSIC awards. Selland earned All-NSIC first team honors, while Prosser earned All-NSIC second team honors, and Metoxen was named to the NSIC All-Defensive team. Selland and Prosser both recorded their 1,000th career points during the season.

The 2017-18 season marked another historic year for Augustana women’s basketball.

The Vikings posted a 29-4 record, won a share of the NSIC regular season title for the first time in program history, won the NSIC South for the 2nd straight season, won the NSIC Tournament in dominating fashion, and advanced to the Sweet-16 in their 14th NCAA Tournament Appearance. The 29 wins are the most in program history, and the Vikings began the season 14-0, which is the best start to a season in program history.

Krauth made history in the regular season finale, when the Vikings defeated Upper Iowa 71-45 on Feb. 17, 2018, to give him his 600th career win. Krauth is the sixth active head coach with 600 or more wins and the 15th coach all-time to do so in Division II. He currently has a .70% winning percentage.

Senior guard, Logan O’Farrell, had a stellar season for the Vikings. O’Farrell was named WBCA Honorable Mention All-American after leading the team in scoring, rebounding, steals and assists. She earned her third straight NSIC Defensive Player of the Year award and her third straight All-NSIC Defensive Team honor. She was named first team All-NSIC for the second year in a row. She led the Vikings to their first NCAA Tournament in five years, and was named NSIC Tournament MVP and earned a spot on the Central Region All-Tournament team.

As has been a staple of his program, academics once again excelled with ten Vikings earning Academic All-NSIC honors. During Krauth’s tenure, he has had 98 players named to Academic All-Conference teams. The team was also named to the WBCA Academic Top 25 Team Honor roll for the fifth straight season.

A highlight of his coaching career, the 2012-13 season was one for the ages, as Krauth’s Vikings set a single-season school record for wins (28), which included being the NSIC Tournament and Central Region Tournament champions. The Vikings advanced to the national tournament semifinals by eliminating previously unbeaten and nationally top-ranked Clayton State in the opening round. Augustana’s unprecedented run came to an end against Dowling College in the semifinals. The Vikings were ranked No. 4 in the final USA Today Sports Coaches Poll and were NCAA Tournament qualifiers for the 13th time.

During his Augustana career, Krauth has coached three WBCA 1st Team All-Americans: Dana Nielsen (1992 and 1993), Sandra Zwach (1997), and Shaunteva Ashley (2015). He has coached 54 first team All-Conference players: Nielsen was a four-time All-NCC choice, while Heidi Morlock, Zwach, Brittani Janssen, and Alison Adamson were three-time All-NCC picks. Nielsen, Zwach, and Ashley were league MVP’s. Logan O’Farrell was a three-time NSIC Defensive Player of the Year from 2016-2018.

Three of Krauth’s players (Bridget Lindquist, Nielsen, and Morlock) were honored as NCAA South Dakota Woman of the Year, and two (Lindquist and Morlock) have been awarded NCAA post-graduate scholarships. Fourteen of his players have been inducted into the Augustana Athletic Hall of Fame, which includes both of his daughters, Julie Dearring and Katie Everson.

Two members of the 2012-13 team were voted NSIC Freshman of the Year: Alex Feeney (2009-10) and Ashley (2011-12). Krauth has also coached three players who were chosen NCC Freshman of the Year: Morlock (1990-91), Chelsea DeVille (2005-06), and Molly Hayes (2007-08).

In 1993, Krauth’s Vikings were cited as the College Women’s Team of the Year by the South Dakota Sportswriter’s Association.

Krauth’s personal honors include Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Coach of the Year (2018), North Central Conference Coach of the Year (1990), the South Dakota Sportswriters’ College Women’s Coach of the Year (1994), and the South Dakota Basketball Coaches Association Women’s College Coach of the Year for 1989-90, 1990-91and 2004-05.

In 2006, he was named the Russell Athletic/WBCA Division II, Region Seven Coach of the Year after leading the Vikings to a 25-7 record. Included was a school-record 20-game winning streak. In 2012, Krauth was inducted into the Sioux Falls O’Gorman High School Athletic Hall of Fame.

Teaching and coaching stints at Tri-Valley High School (Colton, SD), and Roosevelt High School (Des Moines, Iowa) preceded Krauth’s Augustana appointment. He compiled a record of 347-143 as a high school coach, taking eight teams to state tournaments.

Krauth received a bachelor’s degree in physical education from the University of Sioux Falls in 1974. He earned a master’s degree in health, physical education and recreation from South Dakota State University in 1983.

Krauth and his wife, Sandy, are the parents of two daughters, Julie (Augustana 1994) and Katie (Augustana 2006). They have six grandchildren.